Happy Thanksgiving

As I was going through my emails this morning, I came across the following quote. Usually, I think to myself, “What a nice thought!” And that’s as far as it goes. However, this quote really resonated within me.

The quote: “God is glorified, not by our groans, but by our thanksgivings. It is when we stop thinking about what we don’t have or what we lack, and become grateful for who we are, that we can gain access to true unlimited inspiration. Thanksgiving, after all, is a word of action.– Frank Arrigazzi

God is glorified, not by our groans, but by our thanksgivings. How many times do you catch yourself groaning? There are so many days where I tear myself down. Whether it’s, “I wish I could be as good at my job as ______,” or “I wish I had the endurance of ______ at the gym,” or “Too bad we didn’t have a house like _____,” or “If only I could be as good of a wife as _____ is to her husband.”

But then I remember. God doesn’t make mistakes. He made me for who I am and I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be at this very moment. It is when we stop thinking about what we don’t have or what we lack, and become grateful for who we are, that we can gain access to true unlimited inspiration. I realize my life isn’t so bad; it’s actually pretty great. I mean I have a job I love (and awesome customers!), a CrossFit box (gym) that’s always challenging (and cheaper than therapy!), a charming little house (filled with love and some chaos!), a supportive church family, and an adoring husband. I can’t imagine my life any other way. Now, I realize in the blink of an eye, life can change and things won’t go according to plan. But in this very moment, in this very minute, I have everything I need. I am thankful. I am grateful. I am blessed.

sunrise

Thanksgiving, after all, is a word of action. My Thanksgiving wish is that you, too, will gain true unlimited inspiration, even if it feels the world is caving in around you.

Happy Thanksgiving friends!

 

 

 

 

Categories: Continuing the Legacy | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

