Field meals – farmer approved

Have I mentioned how awesome Pinterest is? Seriously, when I have absolutely no idea what to make for dinner, Pinterest for the win!

Why am I sharing this? Because out of the two recipes I’ve made so far, my farmer’s requested the one and said he’d tolerate the other (even though I promised I wouldn’t tell anyone). Regardless, I thought they both turned out great and thought if you’re anything like me, you need all the recipe ideas you can get!

Up first, Creamy Spinach Tomato Tortellini. Takes 15 minutes to cook and is SO good. Disclaimer, my farmer doesn’t care for tomatoes or anything that comes close to resembling alfredo sauce, but he LOVED this. And actually requested it a second time. Get the recipe here. Side note, I used Rotel tomatoes for an extra kick, but if you don’t like spice, stick with the regular diced tomatoes.

creamy-spinach-tortellini-4edit+srgb.

Photo credit: cookingclassy.com

Up next, for a healthier, low-carb, meal Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Stuffed Zucchini Boats. I added chopped tomato and celery to the veggie mix and it was delightful. However I only put peppers, sausage and cheese in the farmers and he tolerated it. He said he wouldn’t necessarily order this dish in a restaurant, but I LOVED it. But then again, I’m a sucker for veggies and anything zucchini-related. I will note, these boats were the perfect size to pick up and eat with your hands (like a hot dog) making it easy to eat on the go. Get the recipe here.

sausage-pepper-and-onion-zucchini-boats-collage

Photo credit: thetwobiteclub.com

Next, we’re going to try these homemade hot Ham and Cheese Pockets because who doesn’t like a hot ham and cheese in the tractor?!

What’s your go-to field meal?

Categories: Fun in the Field | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

