A Traditional Christmas

One thing I’ve learned over the past few years is that my siblings and I are very traditional. We’ve had our family traditions since we were little kids and every year we look forward to our said traditions. Like picking out the best Christmas tree on the lot to get it home and figure out it was lop sided or enjoying mom’s special stuffed blueberry french toast Christmas morning or grandma’s famous cheese soup or the cousins’ dollar gift exchange. Over the years, if mom tried to change the menu we’d get very upset…I mean it just wouldn’t be Christmas without the stuffed blueberry french toast!

Fast forward a few years and here we are all grown up and married, starting traditions of our very own. I remember when I got engaged, a very wise woman told me it’d only get better from there. I nodded and smiled, but in the back of my mind I didn’t think anything could get better than the Christmas I got engaged. I mean the love of my life getting down on one knee, professing his undying love, and slipping a very sparkly rock on my finger with a tear in his eye. Nothing could beat that moment!

Or could it?

One year later, I’ve realized that very wise woman was right. It really does get better. This will be our first Christmas as husband and wife in our home together. While we don’t have too many Christmas decorations yet, we did get a steal on an artificial pre-lit tree and got a few BOGO ornaments to add to our collection we’ve gathered over the years. It’s been fun seeing the gifts pile up and deciding which family traditions to carry on and which ones to start.

We enjoyed putting together our very first Christmas card from the Sanden’s and dressing up our dog as a reindeer (she hates it but we love it). This year, we’ve decided Christmas morning will be all ours. We will make my famous, homemade cinnamon rolls, drink our coffee (his hot chocolate), and open our presents from each other. Then we’ll share the rest of the day with our families.

That same wise woman also said it gets even better from here when babies show up. Until then, I’ll take her word on that and enjoy posing our dog in front of our tree.

Sanden's First Christmas

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

P.S. AgriEnergy Resources will be closed for the holidays December 24-January 3. We will re-open for business on January 4, 2016. We sincerely hope you can enjoy your traditions during this special season!

Categories: Fun in the Field | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Traditional Christmas

  1. Craine, Dean

    Very nice.

    This French toast thing needs some investigation. Does she deliver!!

    Dean

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

