Love in the Little Things

Valentine’s Day.

Some of you may love it. Some of you may hate it. And some of you may think it’s plain ridiculous.

I was one of those people. I hated Valentine’s Day. I didn’t think people had to go spend money on silly things just to show their significant other they loved them. And then of course, I had all THOSE people pointing out how single I was and it was probably just built up rage; not hate.

They may have been on to something, but as I grew older and wiser I began to realize a thing or two.

1) Life is short. We’re not guaranteed tomorrow. So why not tell the ones you love how you feel?
2) All the heart shaped chocolates taste so much better on February 15! How many other bargain shoppers are with me?!
3) I may have been a bit bitter about my current state of singleness.

But then I met this boy, who I remember telling we would NOT be doing ANYTHING for Valentine’s Day and he agreed. I was happy.

The night we got engaged.

The night we got engaged. We were just SO excited!

Then this same boy, showed up on my doorstep with a life-size “I Love You” Teddy Bear. I couldn’t help but feel a bit like Taylor Swift from the movie, Valentine’s Day.

That was over 2 years ago.

Since then, I’ve learned it’s the little things that make life worth living. The things like being surprised with a life-size teddy bear, making heart-shaped pizza, arguing over which kind of patio furniture to buy, sharing an ice cream to be skinny but then getting another one anyway, driving 4 hours every other weekend just to make sure the other is doing okay, late night snacks in the combine, and burning the spaghetti but choking it down anyway.

Today, we’re planning our wedding and as crazy, and exciting, and terrifying, and wonderful as the ride has been, it’s still the little things that truly make it the best experience of my life so far.

So, what little things are you doing this weekend?

Categories: Fun in the Field | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Love in the Little Things

  1. Valarie

    Awww, such a sweet post! It sure is the little things that make life so special 🙂 So incredibly happy that you found the love of your life!!

    Like

  2. John

    Love is good, there always room for Love; however the second most important “thing” about Valentine’s Day is that it is Arizona’s birthday, Feb. 14 1912 Arizona became a state, the last of the contentinal states, #48. Thats worth smiling about.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My first harvest as a farm wife | Daily Dirt

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

