Farm Favorite Friday: From City Lights to Starry Nights

I am so excited to introduce you all to today’s Farm Favorite Friday author!

She grew up in Michigan and much like me had dreams of moving to the big city with no intentions of EVER settling down with a nice, young, farmer. Especially in Bureau County.

When I first met her, I’ll be honest, we were arch enemies. I think she’d agree with that too. You see, we wrote for competing newspapers and how could you be friends with the competitor? Well, one day while covering an event together (for our competitor papers), I found out she was dating a farmer. And it was in that moment, in that blustery parking lot, we clicked.

Goldie & Nick

Since then, she’s become my partner in crime, the Christina Yang to my Meredith Grey.

So without further adieu, meet Goldie Currie as she narrates how one farmer flipped her world upside down (in a good way of course):

“It’s been eight months since I got engaged to my favorite farmer.

Some days I can’t believe I’m on the road to marriage, while other days I find myself at the calendar counting the days until our June 20, 2015 wedding.

If someone would have told me 10 years ago that I would grow up to be a farmer’s wife, I definitely would have laughed and assumed they were kidding.

I always imagined my future life tucked away in the big city dreams. I imagined myself being what many call a “city girl” — complete with a big closet full of fashion duds, an apartment overlooking the city and some sort of fancy event to attend to every night.

I’m a long way from that these days, and to be honest, I couldn’t be happier. I can truly say I am where I’m suppose to be.

The Rapp FarmsteadMy fiancé lives on a farm just north of Princeton. The house is the one his father was raised in, therefore it has a lot of sentimental meaning to us.

I’ll be the first to say, I was nervous leaving my nice town house in downtown Princeton for the quiet, country life.

I wondered if it would feel lonely and empty without the chatter of kids biking by or motors from cars strolling through the streets or even those friendly waves to neighbors. But, guess what, I haven’t thought twice about those things since getting engaged. To be honest, I’m enjoying the peace and quiet. Looking out the windows over the summer, seeing the yard surrounded by corn stalks, gave me a sense of comfort and security, as I saw it as a border around my new little world.

Other than being on the farm, my life hasn’t changed that much as a “future farm wife in training.”

This past harvest season was my first one spent on the farm. It was exciting to see my fiance, his brother, and father all revved up and ready to get out to the fields for the day. The fall season is an exciting one for our family. I love riding in the combine, eating dinner in the fields as the guys take a quick rest, and listenening to them talk about how far along they are and which fields they will tackle the next day.

I feel lucky I get to be apart of this family, whose roots run deep in the agriculture world. I look forward to learning more throughout the years and getting to watch first hand how their farm progresses. I can’t wait to see what’s in store, and you never know,I might be the one out there driving one of those big, green combines someday.”

Goldie is currently the Senior Staff Writer at the Bureau County Republican.

If you have a similar story you’d like to share, we’d love to hear about it. Please email your stories to krumbold@agrienergy.net.

Categories: Farm Favorite Friday | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

